My Skincare Routine

When I was about 10 years old I had a growth spurt and puberty sort of happened which lead to me having lots and lots of acne. Now, I’m very thankful that pimples aren’t common to pop up on my skin anymore. As you could imagine being 10 and being the tallest person my age I became really self conscious because I always stood out and the fact that I was blessed with acne while all my friends had crystal clear skin didn’t help at all. Now that I’m older I like take care of my skin to ensure I can have the best skin possible. Below are the products I use to take care of my face!

skincare routine sincerelyreine

From left to right:

Pomwash Facial Cleanser by Juice Beauty – This is a facewash I’ve been using for 5 months now and I can say I really like it! I use it every night before bed and I can safely say it’s one of my favourite cleansers. It contains pineapple and papaya fruit enzymes which can smoothen out and exfoliate your skin. This product is completely organic as well which is a plus as my skin is a little sensitive and harsh chemicals can break me out.

Radiance Exfoliating Facial Polish by Urban Veda – I bought this nearly the same time I bought the Pomwash facial cleanser but only started using it recently, unlike the Pomwash facial cleanser I use this only about 2 times a week. It naturally brightens, balances skin tone and contains fruit enzymes that enhances complexion. It also smells incredibly amazing and its gentle on the face. This face wash really helped clear my skin from those tiny skin coloured pimples, while the Pomwash Facial Cleanser helped with the bigger ones.

Baking Soda – Besides using the above products, from time to time I like to fully exfoliate my face using baking soda. Baking soda can help remove dead skin cells and clear blocked pores. I’ve been using baking soda to exfoliate my face along with oatmeal (as a face mask) once every 2 weeks since I was young and I honestly can say they helped clear out my acne. To exfoliate with baking soda, pick up a pea amount and add a drop of water to it. First, make sure your face is damp, gently rub it into your skin then rinse well. It leaves your skin incredibly smooth and soft but make sure to put in some sort of moisturizer after as it can possibly leave your face feeling dry.


I plan to do in depth reviews of the products mentioned in this post in the near future as they really helped my skin out so look out for those in the near future! Although I really make a point to take care of my face, it’s important for both you and I to remember that acne is natural and everyone has them πŸ™‚

What products do you use to take care of your skin?

I’d love to know as I’m always looking out for skincare products I can try out!

 

All the love

Reine

 

– FIND ME ON –>

Twitter || Instagram || Bloglovin’ || Youtube || Pinterest || Tumblr

34 thoughts on “My Skincare Routine

  1. You’re back! Anyway, the products I use are unconventional for dermatologists. Back in 2013, I had my first case of eczema and the rashes were everywhere. My dermatologist recommended OTC anti-inflammatory creams but research showed me it only eliminates the itch and redness of my skin. I actually purchased an eBook that promised to treat my skin condition the natural way. Took a risk and it was worth it. I started using tea tree oil diluted with extra virgin olive oil. Tea tree oil reduces the inflammation and bacterial infection while the olive oil acts as a carrier oil (to help the tea tree oil spread to other parts of my body without using a large amount) and a moisturizing agent.

    Other than that, I found out that eczema is linked to food allergies. I eventually found out which foods cause rashes to break out (anything with gluten so pasta, bread, noodles, cake :(((((( ) so I started avoiding them. And there my skin was back to normal after a month.

    PS Do your products work well in removing acne scars?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi! yes I’m back πŸ˜€

      Oh no, I’m glad that the ebook you bought worked for you and your skin is back to normal. Thanks for sharing the products you use for your skin! I’ve heard that tea tree oil can help with acne among many other things but I haven’t tried it yet! The Facial Polish helped even out my skin tone, but I don’t think it’ll get rid of acne scars. Try putting lemon and baking soda on your face. Lemon helps lighten up the scars and baking soda helps remove them. It’s what I’ve done a couple years ago and found it works effectively for me. Using natural remedies for acne can work wonders!

      Like

  2. I’m also using baking soda on my face but with honey to exfoliate my skin. and i would say it’s really good. Pomwash sounds great because i also have a very sensitive skin, i can probably try it. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I need to sort out my skin routine so badly! Also, I know about feeling self conscious and standing out because of height. I used to be the tallest in the year until the boys grew and now I’m like the smallest πŸ˜‚x

    Like

    • I’m sure you will! Acne is normal so there’s always going to be pimples popping up now and again unfortunately. I feel you! I used to be sooo tall when I was younger but now I’m pretty much the smallest, I wish I would grow taller, but I’m pretty sure I’m too old to grow now 😦

      Like

  4. Thanks to a friend, I got into LUSH Handmade Cosmetics products a little over a year ago (December 2015). I will never go back to what I was using previously. At the moment, I use Buche de Noel for my face and body in the shower, Christingle body conditioner, Enzymion moisturizer, and Tea Tree Water toner. I’ve seen a massive reduction in breakouts, and it’s helped my skin become less oily as well. It’s an expensive investment, but the idea is to use just a little bit every day, and the quantities last for months. I usually visit the store only 3-4 times per year!

    Like

    • Surprisingly I haven’t tried any lush products yet. It isn’t that popular where I currently live but I’ve heard so much good things about their products so I definitely have to pop in there and buy things to try out πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing the products you’re using!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’d heard good things about it for almost a year before jumping in, and I’m so glad I did. The staff are very helpful, and they will work to answer any questions you have. I got my 11-year-old niece into it as well, and I’m excited to show her more as she gets older. You’re so welcome!

        Like

  5. I tend to use Aveeno moisturiser, which is Colloidal Oatmeal for my moisturiser, it smells really fresh but i’ll definitely have to give the baking soda trick a whirl!

    beautyandthelittlelady.co.uk
    Missa
    x

    Like

  6. UGH sucks because I can relate to ‘tallest girl in the year AND spotty’ from primary school, luckily since then everyone has seemed to catch up heigh wise but I still have to work so hard on my skin to stop it breaking out every 30 seconds. It’s so helpful seeing what other people use to get theirs under control- I’ve heard lots of people using bicarbonate of soda but I’ve always been scared that it will burn me or leave me all red X
    http://halfgirlhalfteacup.com

    Like

  7. Great post as always Reine! As a natural ingredient I love using lemon juice as a part of my routine. It gets rid of redness so well!

    Like

Leave A Reply

